Valentine’s Day Speech

February 16, 2011 at 11:33 am 11 comments

So, today we continued with our informative speeches. Everyone has done awesome, by the way! We all have had several different topics and I have definitely learned a lot from them. Some have been very personal, some have been fun, some have been very serious, and some have just been very interesting. What I love about our class is how non-judgemental everyone is. Every single person in the class is there to support one another. I would just like to say thanks to Brittany Carroll for pointing that out in class last Wednesday. Letting the class know that everyone was supportive and making no judgments definitely made me feel better.

Well, Monday was my turn to give my informative speech. I’m not gonna lie, I was more nervous about this one because I wasn’t just reading a story like our first speech. I had to actually memorize some things and get familiarized with the material to where I could talk about my topic comfortably. I decided to give my speech about the legends of Valentine’s Day since I would be giving it on Valentine’s Day. I read over and over the different legends, and practiced over and over in my head what I was going to say and how I was going to say it. Yeah, I had notecards, but all I had written on them were little notes in case I ran off track. It was nothing like having a whole story in front of me to read! While waiting to give my speech, I got more nervous, worrying I would stumble over words or forget things. It came to my turn and after handing out my treat bags, I stood up in front of the class.. and to my surprise, my nerves were gone. I mean completely gone.

I felt so comfortable, which may have been because of how much everyone liked my treat bags! Having everyone say thank you and seeing everyone opening them with smiles on their faces just made me feel better. As for my speech, I feel like I did great! I didn’t really have to look at my notecards at all! Surprisingly I remembered everything while in front of the class, and it was very easy for me to talk about. It was something that I found interesting, and it was about one of my favorite holidays..So that definitely made it more fun for me to read and give a speech about.

Today’s class was a lot of fun! The true reason for why I am having such an easy time with my speeches (which is a complete shock) is owed to my class and teacher. Everyone in there is so accepting and it eases my nerves to know that everyone in there is not judging me when I speak. So, I hope that everyone can have fun with their speeches like I did today. Also, I hope everyone’s nerves are calming down with each speech we give. We’re all getting so much better and we have such a great class. Just remember, NO ONE in the room is judging you. We are all learning speakers just like you. And everyone is so nice and helpful in a positive way. I love our class! And our teacher is also so positive and definitely a great speech teacher! Thanks for all the positive comments today guys!Hope everyone has a great Valentine’s Day!

Ally

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Halfway There in Speech Class! Maybe I Picked The Wrong Topic (for me)

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  February 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I thought you did a wonderful job Ally! I agree with you that our class makes it easier to give speeches because they don’t judge and that is awesome.

    Reply
    • 2. ally  |  February 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      Thanks you! You did a great job too. But yeah our class is great!

      Reply
  • 3. natasha  |  February 21, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Thanks for the treat bags, Ally!

    Reply
    • 4. ally  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      You left this comment a while ago, but I just now saw it. haha. You’re welcome for the treat bags though!

      Reply
  • 5. Leeza Rickey  |  February 21, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I just wanted to say thanks again for the treat bags. I agree with what you wrote because it did help when Brittany pointed out how nobody judges and that helps out alot. You did a good job on the speech!

    Reply
    • 6. ally  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      I have four comments on this post that I am just now seeing. haha. But you’re welcome for the treat bags and yes we have a great class. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 7. destini12  |  February 22, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Great job on your speech Ally.
    it was very informative!
    Thanks for the candy… =]

    Reply
    • 8. ally  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks Kate! and you’re welcome :) in case you don’t read the comments above I’m going to tell you too.. I just now saw these comments. haha.

      Reply
      • 9. ally  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:17 pm

        I read this wrong- this one is from Destini, not Kate. So thank you Destini! lol

  • 10. shup7  |  March 1, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    I know this is late but I felt you did a really good job on this speech and I enjoyed hearing about the history of V-day:) You did a great job!

    Reply
    • 11. ally  |  March 13, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks Kate! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 128,854 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

