I Appreciate your Comments

October 5, 2009 at 10:39 am 2 comments

The Fall Quarter has officially begun in our Fundamentals of Effective Speech class. Our first round of presentations began on Wednesday the 30th and I was extremely impressed with the individuals who put themselves out there and did a very nice job. There were a couple of people who were obviously nervous, and that is to be expected. Hopefully, with practice and confidence in themselves they can improve on being more relaxed when giving their presentations.

Over the weekend, I reviewed the comments my classmates made regarding my speech and I was surprised and pleased with what they had to say. I appreciated everyone’s honesty. I was glad to see that a few of my peers let me know the things that could be improved on, so that I can take those into account for the next speech. All and all everyone seemed to either enjoy or appreciate what I had to say. I was unsure about the topic that I chose but I was pleased with the outcome. It was nice to know that I was able to inform some people regarding America’s introduction to World War II and even excited about the fact that one person seemed interested enough to look further into the subject.

After my speech was complete and I had time to reflect about how I had presented it, there were a couple of things I noticed that I could have improved on. These ideas were confirmed in the reviews I received from my classmates. I have watched the recording of that speech numerous times and I tried to present it in the same fashion that it was presented by Roosevelt that day, but I was unable to capture the emotion he was feeling at that time. I realized afterwards that that was going to be impossible. But it was a learning experience and I learned a lot from it. With this knowledge and the knowledge I have received from the text, I am hoping that I can use this to improve on my next presentation.

Michael

Entry filed under: My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience.

When Last We Met Ahhh it is ahead of us now….

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabrielle  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I thought you did very well ! I thought everyone in class did a great job.

    Reply
  • 2. Brandy  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Michael your speech was great. I don’t think anyone can get that emotion he had that day unless they were there and experienced it. The emotion you put into that speech was just as good though. Keep up the good work can’t wait till next speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,657 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

