Blog Numero Uno

October 7, 2009 at 10:02 am 2 comments

Speech class has never been on my list of things to do before I die. And I must admit I was very nervous when I signed up for this class. I really admire how people can get up and talk in front of large groups. It’s a gift to be able to speak to people and get a point across. So, I figured that I would leave that kind of stuff up to those gifted people. And I still might definitely do that. I don’t believe that I am going to be a public speaker. But I am going to college for Chemical Dependency Counseling which means that I will be working with small groups and such. I believe that this class can and will help me better my communication skills.

So far I have enjoyed speech class. Everyone is really down to earth. The environment is good and positive. I feel comfortable when I walk into the room and that’s important to me. It was also really nice to find out that I wasn’t the only one that was nervous about this class.

Today I gave my first speech. I believe that it went decently well. I had a vision of me doing way worse then what I thought I would. So I’m pretty happy about the way it turned out. My speech was  a song called “Emily” from Joanna Newsom. Feel free to look up her music. I highly doubt that you will like it but if you do end up liking it, I will give you a high five. She is a very beautiful woman with an extremely unique voice. I chose that song because nobody around here has ever heard of her and I believe that her thoughts needed to be heard. In my opinion an artist isn’t anything without her/his fans. So it was an honor to read her lyrics.

Everyone did a great job on their speeches. They were all very different and interesting.  Thank you everyone for making this class fun so far. I cannot wait to see what happens next!

-Christy

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

A Pleasant Surprise Informative Speech Topic

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabrielle  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Christy, i loved your choice of reading it was different. I have never heard of her before and I thought you did a great job.

    Reply
  • 2. pattywilder  |  October 7, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Christy I really enjoyed your selection for class. I’ll make sure I check out her music. Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,049 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

