Informative Speech

October 26, 2009 at 12:41 pm 1 comment

Well, today I feel I really bombed it. I had the idea and the words but I wasn’t able to make the delivery the way I had intended. That damn eye contact thing gets me every time. If I had just read the whole thing I would have been better off but that wasn’t the point was it. I want to thank my classmates for their comments, most of them actually made me feel better about it. It was said in class today not to worry about everybody else’s opinion and do the speech for yourself but I have high very expectations of myself, my wife tells me too high. I thing that’s why her and my children all refer to me as a nerd.

I guess the biggest problem I am having with it is after I got up there, and started making eye contact with everyone I started to forget what I was talking about, my mind just went completely blank. Apparently, I was not as prepared as I though I was. Either that or the anxiety got to me. Do yourself a favor and don’t make the same mistake I did.

The descriptive speech we are giving next is going to be a lot easier. Just so everybody knows, I am going to demonstrate the process an oil change in a car so be prepared to go outside, even if it’s cold and rainy. Yeah, everybody’s gonna hate me. I chose this idea because this is something I don’t have to think about, so it will be much simpler. I am going to treat it like a training session, something I have done quite a few times in my 35 years.

As far as today goes, everyone did really well and some of them were actually quite entertaining. Especially Raye’s. And I learned more than I realized I would.

So, to everyone that still needs to present their informative speech, good luck. I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

Michael

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Demonstration Speech, Experience & public speaking, informative speech, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

New Experience Informative Speeches Y’all.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brandi  |  October 26, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    I REALLY WISH I COULD HAVE BEEN THERE MICAHEL. I BET YOU DID AWESOME YOU ALWAYS DO. DON’T BEAT YOURSELF UP. YOU MIGHT THINK YOU DID AWFUL BUT IN REALITY WE ALL THINK YOU DID GREAT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

