Well I did it- My Informative Speech!

October 28, 2009 at 9:21 am 1 comment

First, I want to thank everyone for the nice comments. Patty, I really appreciate what you had to say, that was very nice. I feel better now that I am finished, however, I feel a little like Michael, I was so nervous I stumbled over some of my words and my mouth was so dry I felt like I had cotton in it. I wish I could have heard Michael’s speech. I bet he did well, he did great on his reading. I know this was different though because we could not read it, that’s what made me so nervous.

You know, I can’t image why I was so nervous because I’ve been doing CNA work forever, it should have just flowed right out of my mouth. But I still found myself wanting to look down at my paper. I can’t wait to hear Jackie’s speech, it is really personal for her and I admire her for wanting to share these experiences with everyone. She’s become a great friend to me since starting college, and I think a lot of her, especially since she doesn’t mind that I am old enough to be her mom.

I thought everyone did a wonderful job Monday on their speeches, I thought Gabrielle had a very good topic, I have a friend who is Gay, and he is the best person. Crystal your speech on alcohol abuse really hit home for me, since someone I care a lot about is letting this controlling disease slowly destroy their life. Frances you delivered a heart warming speech. Working with children has to be rewarding. Loved your speech! Christy, I know you told me you thought your speech was not that great, but I enjoyed learning about the band you admire, also you always add humor which makes it even more interesting. Drew your just a pro!

Well, we are on are way to doing the next speech, The demonstrative speech. I am still trying to decide what I am going to do, I have a few ideas. I think this one will be very interesting.

Candee, I also want to thank you for making this class so much fun, and just letting everyone be their self. I really enjoy this class. You do a great job!!

Tiree

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Demonstration Speech, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics.

What a variety! Two Down Two To Go

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  October 28, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Tiree, I thought that you did a wonderful job on your speech and I admire the work you do. Everyone did a fabulous job on their speeches so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

