Strange Art from a Strange Person

November 21, 2009 at 2:53 pm 10 comments

Hello everyone.

After my little informative speech the other day, I realized that I may not have done such a great job of explaining just how difficult it is to create a comic. Nor did I really explain what kind of comics I’m in to. Nor did I make known just how vast [or narrow] the audience is for these types of comics. So I thought I might link to two of my favourite manga sites.

Now don’t be frightened–once you let the awesomeness of Japanese comics fill your American eyeballs you’ll know why I love them. xD lol

This site is where we ‘otaku’ [fans of manga] ‘hang out’. There’s some fun manga/anime quizzes, forums, and even some fanart.

http://theotaku.com/

This site is where you can read all the free manga you want lol. Actually they let you read only about five or ten chapters before they make you sign up. [But if you don’t sign up, they keep making all these ads pop up–did I mention the ads are in Swedish?? ] I think you can even watch some episodes of cartoons based on comic books.

http://www.bleachexile.com/

 

Raye

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Speech Topics, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Speeches Blog Número Tres

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bridget  |  November 23, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Raye, The best thing about this class so far for me, is that we are all learning fun new things about each other. You might feel as though you needed to “tweek” some parts of your speech on comic books, but I learned about how creative you are. What a great job. Hope someday you publish it.

    Reply
    • 2. Raye  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      thank you so much.
      I really was super nervous about showing everyone my drawings and I’m so glad everyone liked my speech. =]

      Reply
  • 3. michaelj1974  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Raye, for someone who claims to have been so nervous, you held your own extremely well. I thought the idea was great. And by the way you are not a weird person, you’re just “different” Which is a quality that alot of people now a days are beginning to lose. I admire the fact that you’re willing to put yourself out there as much as you do. Stay the way you are and never, ever cower to “the man” cause he is always watching.

    Reply
    • 4. Erin  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

      Correct, you reminded me of that video Candee showed about taking the creativity out of our kids and ‘programming’ them to conforn into societies mold. Raye you seem to be one of the kids that would not conform to the mold and that makes you a great person, I truly hope you continue to enjoy this since you love it so much and not make the same mistake I did right after high school. The boyfiend, soon to be hubby, said I spent too much time doing other things like drawing and not enough with him…so I gave up my paper and charchol pencils, and very much regret doing so.
      Please for you never give up something you love to do!

      🙂 Erin

      Reply
  • 5. tireec09  |  November 24, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Raye, I think you are very talented, I bet you could someday publish your drawings, they already look good enough to me. Awesome work!! Tiree

    Reply
  • 6. tireec09  |  November 24, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Oh by the way, you are not a strange person. You are a unique and very talented person. Remember that always. Tiree

    Reply
  • 7. Frances  |  November 24, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    You are not a strange person. Now do you give drawing lessons for these comic books, if so sign me up. I just a doodler. Ha! ha! I think your a natural at speech making. Great job on all your speechs and to me your a very confident young lady

    Reply
    • 8. Raye  |  November 26, 2009 at 1:34 pm

      I’ve long since learned that I’m no teacher lol
      but you can do what I did and teach yourself.
      How did I teach myself? Here’s the big secret–
      I just watched a lot of Japanese cartoons.
      =]

      So flip on the television and start watchin’ lol.

      Reply
  • 9. bigjohn223  |  November 25, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    look everyone feels that they could have done better. if they dont feel that way then there stupid for thinking they know everything. its like my I.T. instructor once said. a good computer technition doesnt claim that he knows everything. he refers back to the basics. you did just that you refered back to the basics of creating a comic book. and for what its worth i think you did one HELL of a job.

    Reply
  • 10. Raye  |  November 26, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks everyone!!!

    Every one of your comments made me smile!!!

    Thanks to everyone for being attentive during my speech as well. =]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

