Its not a cell phone, its a leash.

November 23, 2009 at 7:27 pm 11 comments

My cell phone feels like a leash. People think that because they can call you anytime that you are always available. And they all leave the same message; “Hey, call me when you get this.”

Since I did my information speech on driving/cell phone use, I try not to use it in the car, unless I’m pulled over or parked. I am about 94% successful with this. I never realized how much multi tasking I did in my car with my phone until I started making an effort not to do it. So I have these calls to return when I get home that I used to have out of the way by the time I got there. I find new ways to multi task. I go out to feed my dogs, and now I take the phone with me. I lost my blue tooth, which really had me spoiled, and still does, and I am feeling resentful as I’m trying to feed the dogs, water them, pet them and give them treats while trying to get a call or two out of the way. I try to load/unload the dish washer with one hand. I feel resentful. I feel like something is invading my home time. I don’t even want to describe the trip to the bathroom! So I have came up with a solution. I turn my phone off. It’s great! I remember a simpler time (because I’m old) before we could be reach 24/7. We had rotary phones that were attached to the wall. You only talked on it when you choose, or when it rang. We did not have answering machines, voicemail, or cordless phones. Those were the days.

I like leaving my phone off. My phone doesn’t make me feel connected. It makes me feel trapped. When it is off I feel like I have some new area of privacy that I just discovered. It’s freeing. I say all that to say this. The information speech took me somewhere I didn’t plan on going, and I kinda like it.

Patty

Entry filed under: informative speech, Uncategorized.

Blog Número Tres Final Act

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raye  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    i see people constantly texting and wonder why they can’t just go talk in person!!

    even when my friends and i are hanging out, she’s always texting soemone as if our conversation really isn’t as stimulating as it should be, even though i really don’t find it such a big deal.

    and i always thought those texting people were happy texting–but maybe they’d be happier if they followed your lead and turned off the phone.

    Good post, Patty. =]

    Reply
    • 2. pattywilder  |  November 24, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      Thank you Raye for your comments. It is annoying when you are hanging out with people and they got the phone thing going on. I have been guilty of that, but since I have this new awareness with my phone, I try to keep it in my bedroom, and check it when I’ve excused myself from their company for a few minutes. I’m surprised how much power my phone has over me. I am really working on getting some better balance with it. Have a good Thanksgiving! Patty

      Reply
  • 3. michaelj1974  |  November 23, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    I actually found the video you played in class and had my kids watch it. They are all girls ranging in ages 11 to 15. The 15 year old is getting ready to start driving lessons and about 30 seconds into the video she broke down crying and couldn’t watch the rest. She’s very emotional. But I think the video did it’s job. We talked about it later that afternoon and it seems to have been taken to heart. I hope so. For her sake and mine.

    Reply
    • 4. pattywilder  |  November 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      Michael, I am sending you a power point with the video inserted. I’m new at this,so I hope I send it right. Thanks for your comments.

      Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I agree with Michael, would like to get the address for that so my oldest can wacth it as well. Yes she is only 13, but if mommy can drive a very good point home now I think it will greatly help her come time for her to drive. I will also have to admit, my toying with phone while drivin has dropped very much since Patty’s speach. I am now to where I will not even try to talk on phone unless have the ear piece, driving one handed is not safe not to mention holding a phone gives you another blind spot which makes things more dangerous. So many thanks are owed to you Patty………….
    THANK YOU!!!! 🙂
    Erin

    Reply
    • 6. pattywilder  |  November 24, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you Erin for your comments. I have put together a power point. I’m attaching a copy.Click on the p in the first slide to access the video.Thanks again.

      Reply
  • 7. Frances  |  November 24, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I thought your speech on cell phones was awesome. It reaaly hit home with me. The video was very graphic but i loved it. I even downloaded it for my daughters to see. I think it should be showed even on regular T.V. It really opened my eyes.

    Reply
    • 8. pattywilder  |  November 25, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      Thank you Frances. It has been a real eye opener for me to. I have been sharing it with my family members. I agree with you, it should be shown more. Thanks again. Patty Wilder

      Reply
  • 9. bcevans  |  November 25, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Hey Patty, this speech you made was so eye opening. I have caught myself many times since trying to do two and three things at once while driving. I have already stopped listening to the radio while I drive cause I keep messing with the channels. There are so many things that people do when they drive from smoking, channel surfing, fighting with the kids in the backseat, eating, etc., etc. I just wonder what would happen if everyone just had to stop driving and multi tasking…….I bet there would be a lot less wrecks and death happening. Thanks again for the eye opener.

    Reply
  • 10. bigjohn223  |  November 25, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    ill admitt that i like to txt a lot more than i really should but oh well. its what i like to do and its a free country. i guess i would like to say whatever floats ur boat. just dont go using it on the road and hit another car or something. thats just stupid. if you cant do without txt while driving get out of the car.

    Reply
  • 11. Brandi  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Patty your words and speeches move everyone and we are affected by them. Don’t stop wat you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

