Done!

November 27, 2009 at 10:30 am 2 comments

Well I finally completed my last speech yesterday. I think that it was my best of all. I don’t know why it felt so good but I really think I did a good job on it. I usually feel like I did bad when I get done with my speech, however I had a really good feeling about this one.

I think this speech was so good for me because it really hits home. I have a soft heart and every time I’m in Cincinnati I always end up giving money to one of those people holding the signs asking for money. Maybe they don’t really need it, but I feel like they do. I wish I had more to give and could help more people. No one should have to live out on the streets in the cold. Homelessness and poverty are a real problem in America. Many of us struggle to get by and live paycheck to paycheck. I know that if it wasn’t for my family, I wouldn’t be able to make it. Things are just so expensive and it’s hard just to get by.

I want to just ask anyone who reads this, to do what they can and donate what they can. I am a firm believer in karma. If any of us were homeless or in need, we would hope that someone would help up too.

Heather

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, Meaning, My Voice, Persuasive Speech, Uncategorized.

Thanksgiving Thoughts My final blog of the quarter

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raye  |  November 27, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Your speech was pretty much amazing.

    Very very persuasive–great job.

    Reply
  • 2. michaelj1974  |  November 30, 2009 at 1:39 am

    In my economics class we were having a discussion on this subject and Bill Horne made a very good comment regarding it. He said, “If I can give that person a couple of dollars so that they can go and buy a bottle of booze in order to put a smile on their face I would do it.” I personally totally agree with this. In most cases you know what they are going to spend it on, but if it can make them happy for even a short amount of time then it is worth it.

    That’s one of the many things that are wromg with this country. Nobody is interested in making anyone else happy anymore. They are too interested in making themselves happy. Survival of the fittest. That’s a loud of crap.

    I’m freakin movin to Europe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

