Thanksgiving Thoughts

November 27, 2009 at 10:24 am 4 comments

Last night, as you might remember, I gave my persuasive speech. I thought I did an okay job at speechin’ but I really do hope y’all take my advice to heart.

If you gotta get your tan, please do it in the sun, not the oven. xD

But anyways, that was my last speech. In a way, I’m glad I can now sit back and enjoy everyone else’s last speech. But I guess I’m kind of sad at the thought of the class ending. This class was uber-fun–not that a speech class could ever be not-fun.

Everyone that’s given their speech so far has done a really really wonderful job. Everyone’s been picking some really powerful topics. And that takes courage to speak about something so controversial.

So more power to you!
Have a nice Thanksgiving everyone!

 

Raye

Entry filed under: Creativity, Finding Your Voice, Persuasive Speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

our first speech! Done!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michaelj1974  |  November 30, 2009 at 2:04 am

    I was wondering if you could come over and give your speech to my 15 year old daughter. She depends on going to that damn human oven in order to get a tan instead of going outside. I’m serious, she does not go outside. One of the laziest kids I know. It’s terrible. Why did I have kids again?

    Anyway, it was an excellent case of speechin’. I appreciate the fact that you gave me the 2 fingered quotation marks. Your should use that at every oppertunity. It’s funny. I like it.

    Reply
  • 2. bridget  |  November 30, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Raye, you have been a source of great enjoyment for me. Your speeches are fun and educational. I love your laid-back style and the fact that you can make us laugh at such a serious subject as skin cancer from tanning. Great job.

    Reply
  • 3. bcevans  |  November 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Raye you are to hilarious. But anyway about your speech, I was happy to hear someone take a subject that most young people today can relate to and give us some facts. I mean seriously most of the time they just look stupid, no one is that dark in the middle of winter, come on. Anyway thanks for the laughs throughout this class, hopefully I will see you next go round.

    Reply
  • 4. Raye  |  December 1, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    To Michael: just show her a picture of a wrinkly. leathery old lady and maybe she’ll get the point xD

    To Bridget: Thank you so much–I really do try to make everyone laugh so the class won’t be as boring as the other ones xD

    To bcevans: thanks. i actually do think a tan looks good on some people, but cancer don’t look good on anybody.

    So i hope all y’all tan-aholics in speech class will try out the sun as opposed to the “human-oven” next time. and did i mention, the sun is free? lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,674 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

