Blog Número DONE. (haha)

December 1, 2009 at 11:48 am 6 comments

We are finished! Praise Jesus!!!!

It’s not that I really want to be finished with this class, I just need a break. I’m not going to lie, my last speech didn’t come out like I wanted it to. I had thought and thought about what I was going to say and I didn’t even end up saying it. The biggest point that I had was that I have always wanted to be a Photographer and some of my family told me that I couldn’t make it. Photography is something that I am passionate about and have been since I was a little girl. It is true that there isn’t much money in Photography, but there also isn’t very much money in Chemical Dependency Counseling. I should be following my dreams, but I’m not because it’s too hard to do anything around here. Adams County/Brown County/Highland County doesn’t offer Photography. Downtown Cincinnati does, but I can’t go there because #1: I don’t want to get shot and #2 it’s really expensive. I’m an idiot for not following my dreams because it haunts me EVERYDAY. I’m a good example of a person who doesn’t take their own advice. I know I’m still young so maybe one day I will be able to do what I want.  All I know is life is too short to regret something everyday. So if you have the chance to go out and do something that you love, then don’t hold back. Don’t let ANYONE tell you what to do or how to live your life. The key words are “YOUR LIFE”. Be yourself. Be strong. And follow your dreams.

Now that I’ve got that out of the way..ha.. I would just like to say Thank You to everyone. Thank you for supporting me when I was up there giving my speeches. Thank you for being so nice and helpful. Thank you Candee for making this class an amazing experience for all of us. Thank you and Gary for the pizza too 😉

I will always remember this speech class and all of the people in it. I think that this class has helped me to remember who I am. It was nice to see everyone express themselves. Sometimes we don’t get to do that very much. And this class really made us shine.

Much love,

Christy

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Creativity, Experience & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Meaning, Persuasive Speech, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Demonstration speeches Demonstration Speech

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tireec09  |  December 2, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Christy, I think you should follow your dreams, you are young and have your whole life ahead of you. I’m not saying that chemical dependecy is not a good field but if photography is what you dream of you should go for it. Maybe you could work somewhere other than Cincinnati. I just know I wish I would have followed my dreams when I was your age. You are so creative, its like you said in your speech I am who I am and I’m not going to change. Well don’t change on how you feel about your dreams. If I would have followed mine 20yrs ago I don’t think I would be in the shape I am today. I wish you all the best for your future. Tiree

    Reply
  • 2. venitrechristy  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Thank you Tiree.
    That was really sweet. 🙂
    If you don’t mind me asking, what dreams did you have?
    And what stopped you?

    Reply
    • 3. tireec09  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:45 am

      I have always wanted to be a nurse, its something I know I would be great at, it seems I haven’t been great at a lot in my life.Do you know there are a lot of people who become nurses just because the pay is good. I truely want to be a nurse because I love helping people.When I graduated high school in 1983, I chose to get married I thought it was the right thing to do at that time, well it only lasted 2yrs. I should have went straight back to school then but unfortunately, I could not do it financially. Then one thing lead to another and I became a nurse aide, well don’t get me wrong I like helping the elderly. But I can not stand how nurse aides get treated by everyone. They are so looked down on in the field. Even though I knew what I was doing was a good thing, I also know I can do even better. It just kills me to see a nurse who doesn’t care about her patients. I’ll make it, I’m not giving up. I’ve got a few good years left. You just reminded me of myself and how I didn’t do want I wanted and how I regret it everyday.

      Reply
  • 4. venitrechristy  |  December 2, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Awww. Well I think that you can do it.
    And the fact that you are passionate about it is AMAZING.
    I could never be a nurse. I’m cruel sometimes.
    I really wish you the best of luck with it.
    And I’m sorry that people treat nurse aides differently.
    I wasn’t aware of that until your speech.
    I’ll be praying for you.

    Reply
  • 5. Brandi  |  December 2, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Follow your dreams and knock everyone out who says you can’t. It’s up to you what you want to do with your life. Move forward and never look back!

    Reply
  • 6. michaelj1974  |  December 3, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Christy you are one goofy girl. Listen here Waddle. If you want to take up photography but are afraid to go to Cincinnati there are other places. I lived in Cincy for 30 years and was never really concerned about getting shot. It’s n as bad as you think it is. You would be just fine. If that’s what you want to do, then do it girl. You are an adult and are capable of making your own decisions.

    Hopefully you have found your voice, now follow your heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,657 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

