Definitely Out of My Element

January 9, 2010 at 10:04 pm 5 comments

Hey everybody! My name is Loren and I’m in the Monday/Wednesday speech class. Now me and public speaking don’t really mix, so it’s kind of funny that I even signed up for the class. For as long as I can remember I’ve hated talking in front of people, even if it’s in front of people I know! I don’t know why I get so nervous and work myself up about it. I usually get so worked up,  that I make myself sick. But as soon as I’m finished talking it feels like a huge weight has been lifted. So I guess I’m taking this class in spite of my fear. I know that I may not be the best speaker or the best presenter, but what I do know is that I hope to improve my skills through the course of the quarter. So far speech class seems pretty cool, but just knowing that I have to make four speeches is still haunting me. I just have to take a deep breath and do it. What doesn’t kill me, will only make me stronger!!…or so I hope.

I’m really looking forward to class on Monday!!!

Loren

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Uncategorized.

Fear? What Fear? The Special Love Between a Daughter and Her Mother

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michaeldein  |  January 10, 2010 at 1:09 am

    I agree on being out of element. I have always been intimidated by public speaking. I think it will get easier or atleast that’s what I’m telling myself. With several speeches looming……can I convince myself in time?

    Mike

    Reply
  • 2. cailabrianne  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Hey Loren!
    It’s Caila from American Lit after 1900. I’m taking the morning speech class with Candee and I feel the exact same way. But I know that in the end, it’s your words that make the difference. So speak up and never leave anything unsaid. I’m getting ready to make a speech in the next week and I’m not terribly nervous but I know that I will always have that twinge of fear in my head. Stay strong because you never know; you might be more relaxed and outstanding with public speaking than you think.

    Reply
    • 3. Loren  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      Thanks Caila!! I really appreciate it! I’m supposed to do my reading next Wednesday. I’m scared but I just want to get it over with. Ugh…public speaking…

      Reply
  • 4. starscream85  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Most of us are feeling the nervous tension begin to swell. Don’t worry were all in this together. Nice post.

    Reply
  • 5. Simon Raybould - public speaking trainer UK  |  January 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Good to hear! Most people are scared of doing what you do and it’s great to hear you facing up to them.

    Remember also that the fear is good in many ways – it gives you the edge that you need to perform better.

    Simon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,049 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

