Let’s see where this goes…

January 10, 2010 at 11:49 am 3 comments

Photo "Tree Path" by Dean Russell

Well, here goes my first attempt at a blog. The thing is, I am not really sure what to write about. I suppose I could mention my apprehension with making speeches, especially when in public. Judging from what I have read in blogs and posts from my fellow students here I can tell that the feeling is, for the most part, very mutual.

I have never been what you would call an outgoing person. In fact I rarely speak at all, as I am usually lost in my own thoughts. I mostly prefer keeping my opinions and such to myself, so you can probably guess how difficult that the process of ‘finding my voice’ is going to be. However, after reading some of the other blogs here and seeing everyone else continuing on despite their fears, I decided that I am willing to give this class a shot. It is my hope that this class will help me get over my fear of speaking in front of others. Whether it will or not, only time can tell.

Kyle

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, My Voice, public speaking.

Learning To Speak Can’t Wait to Learn MORE!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. winddancer26  |  January 12, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    As a group, I believe it is safe to say the majority of us are not only apprehehensive, but fearful (I know I am). Unlike yourself, I am very extraverted, however, we both react similarly when giving speeches. Perhaps we need to come up with a song, chant, or other personal technique to use before we give our speeches. By the way, share your thoughts, Kyle. We all learn from each other- shine; you’re a star ; )

    Reply
  • 2. gothicmaster666  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I thought that when you gave your speach that it was very good. The way that you walked about made it look as though you were not stressed out at all, like a teacher almost in front of a class. I beleive that you have some great makings to do whatever you choose to do in your life and that you shouldn’t let anything hold you back. Believe in yourself and many magical and wonderful things will come your way. Good luck to you.

    Reply
  • […] class blog, like this one,  encourages students to find their voice, express their fears and their insights. Students write about things that happen in class or share what helps them feel […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

