Time Is Precious

January 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm 7 comments

Today I gave my first speech. For my speech I read a modern parable by Jeffrey Davis called “1000 Marbles.” For those of you who did not get to hear my speech, the story is about a man’s theory of “1000 marbles.” He had done some calculating and figured that the average person lives to be about 75 years old, so he  (at 55 years old at the time) only had about one thousand Saturdays left in his life to enjoy, so he went to numerous toy stores and bought one thousand marbles and put them in a large container in his workshop. Every Saturday since then he took one marble out of that container and he begins to explain how what you do with your time is precious and shouldn’t be wasted.  He then tells how that morning he took the last marble out of the container…

I decided to read this story for my speech because I felt like people could get a lot out of it.  The first time I heard this story was at Church and it really helped me to put things into perspective and made me think a lot about what I was doing with my life personally.  Nobody knows how much time they have left on this earth, so I think it’s really important that we all take advantage of the time we do!

I hope everyone’s speeches have gone great and wish those who haven’t gone yet the best of luck!

-Emma

Image Credit:  “Marbles” by Eugenio

Entry filed under: Meaning, My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized. Tags: .

done with the first one! First “Speech”

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. winddancer26  |  January 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Emma, I just wanted to say that your reading was fascinating and exceptionally delivered. The story, although somewhat blue, carried an important message. You seemed happy to share it. Also, you exuded a confience that probably helped boost the confidence of the students who read after you. Awesome!

    Reply
    • 2. emboli1091  |  January 20, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Thank you! I was very happy to share it! I felt like the moral of story was something that everyone could get something out of.

      Reply
  • 3. Destiny  |  January 19, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Hey Emma. I loved your speech and also thought that you delivered it with a lot of confidence. I loved the moral of the story and I am planning on sharing it with my daughters. :) Destiny

    Reply
    • 4. emboli1091  |  January 20, 2010 at 11:52 am

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it. That’s awesome that you are going to share it with your daughters!

      Reply
  • 5. gothicmaster666  |  January 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    I did enjoy your speach very much and I feel that it does matter as to how we spend the time left with our family. And it is a very good idea to do if one doesn’t feel that way to do. I also wonder how many people will do this after hearintg your speach cause I think that I might follow through and do it. I will have to buy alot of marbles though but it will be a very interesting thing to do and to watch. I look fowards to reading your next blog and hearing your next speach. Good luck to you and to the rest of the class.

    Richard

    Reply
  • 6. jessica2011  |  January 24, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    i really liked your speech. it had a great point and you could tell that you really enjoyed/believed what you were saying

    Reply
  • 7. michaeldein  |  January 24, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Emma,

    I thought your speech was great. “1000 marbles” is a great story! It really makes you think about life and how fast it does pass by. It also makes me think about how important it is to spend every day doing what makes you the happiest! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 121,568 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

