First “Speech”

January 14, 2010 at 2:08 pm 2 comments

Wednesday is my first speech that I will be giving this year in class. Although we will just be simply reading from a text, I’m kinda worried about it. Will I make good eye contact? Will I speak loud enough? Will my voice shake because I’m nervous? Will the class think my topic is stupid? I usually am a decent public speaker but I’m starting to get nervous! I want to impress Candee and the class and show that I can speak well in front of people, regardless of what I am speaking and in front of whom. Everyone has done great so far and I don’t wanna be the one to mess it up. So I guess the only way to do this is to take control of it! I’m gonna have to have the attitude that I’m gonna knock this reading out, and it WILL be good! So my goal this 4-day weekend: Perfect my reading! I can do it!

Zack K

Photo Credit: http://ravenyoung.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!17376F4C11A91E0E!4119.entry

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Creativity, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Uncategorized.

Time Is Precious I was Proud

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  January 19, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Zach,
    You will be fine. I felt scared myself. I was just wanting to get it over with. Then, I thought, that wasn’t fair or what I really wanted. I didn’t want to just get through it, I wanted to entertain my fellow classmates, and do the best I could do. You have a head start on me, as you realize this from the start. One thing helped me, was reading the blogs, and knowing most everyone felt the same way. Go Zach.
    Tina

    Reply
  • 2. davi2276  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Youll be fine man!
    I’ll admit it was a bit nerve racking at first just because it was the first one.
    But once you get going you’ll be fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

