I was Proud

January 19, 2010 at 7:33 pm 5 comments

I spoke in class last Wednesday. I thought that I would be terrified. Expected a stress headache. Anticipated super shaky hands-imagined a minute earthquake roaring throughout my body, really. As I approached the podium, however, the feelings were – something else completely.

I was excited,eager to share the poem that I had chosen (“You Get Proud by Practicing”). It contains a message that is powerful, and all of us (humanity) can relate to that message in some way. I was determined to express and highlight via voice, expression, pauses, tone, ect portions of the piece that spoke to me, while attempting to convey the message of the writer. When my reading was complete, I was proud. I was proud of myself for accepting and completing the challenge. I was proud for sharing the message that I found oh so important.

I’d like to share some advice to future first-timers: Speak/read from your heart-SERIOUSLY. Practice, even if your audience is your 7-year-old : ). If you practice, you will be proud.

~Heather

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Meaning, My Voice, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

First “Speech” We all Need Help Sometimes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. davi2276  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Youll be fine man!
    I will admit I was pretty nervous but once you get going it will be fine!

    Reply
  • 2. clif2226  |  January 20, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    I don’t know if anyone isn’t nervous when it’s their turn to speak. For some it’s excitement, for others it’s scared to death! Remember to always stay positive and try to relax. When you are giving your speech, you are talking to a group of classmates that are or were, at some point, just as nervous as you are. Never let fear take over your speech. Your speech had a great message. Well done! Always be proud of yourself and focus on the positives, It will help you through.

    Reply
  • 3. kyle3933  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I am glad that you felt proud with your speech, as you certainly deserved it. The positive way that you went about giving your presentation was very refreshing. I also really liked the poem that you chose for your reading; the message was very powerful and it definitely applies to everybody, especially to those of us in this class.

    Public speaking should be no problem for you. With your positive attitude, I dont think that there is much that can hold you back.

    Kyle

    Reply
  • 4. annette58  |  January 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Heather, I think everyone is nervous when we have to get up in front of people I know I was even if everyone seem to think I wasn’t It wasn’t!until after the first few words everything seemed to fade away, the nervousness wasn’t at all like it was before I started talking. I just let go and it really was a great feeling, your right about speaking from the heart. I too feel that way. If we reach down inside we can really get others to relate to our speech! Keep up the good work! And remember it’s what in your heart that counts the most! joan

    Reply
  • 5. heatherhacker  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:08 am

    yes! practice practice practice. I always believe I can just “wing it” well that does not work in this class, thanks heather!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

