90 Minutes in Heaven

January 21, 2010 at 9:02 am 3 comments

Ok. So, I made my speech today and it was mentally exhausting. I still feel no better about speaking in front of others.

I sense that there may be some confusion and I would like to clear that up. I said that I didn’t necessarily agree with all aspects of the book that I read from. In hindsight, I should have been a little bit more detailed on that. Regarding my personal beliefs: I do believe in God, in Heaven, and in Hell. I do believe that prayer is a powerful source of communication. So, I do agree with the author on those points of view. In one part of the book, Don talks about actually going to Heaven. He recalls being alive one minute and then being in Heaven the next. He said that there was no “light” that some people talk about. I get a sense that he thinks “the light” is just something that people make up. I had an experience one time that was similar, and though I didn’t see “the light”, I had an unmistakable sensation of light. It’s not something that I can clearly explain. He takes a cavalier tone through out some of the book and I can’t stand that. I know what I believe and I know all of the theology behind it. What I don’t understand is why so many people who share the same belief as me act haughty. God didn’t put me on this earth to judge others. But, all in all, take the time to read the book. It has a lot of great messages in it; including, perseverance.

-destiny

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

The New World Order It Wasn’t Bad At All

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emboli1091  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I thought you did a great job on your speech! I go to the library quite often and have seen that book, but never really thought much of reading it. After listening to the part of the book that you read I am planning on getting it to read (which is crazy cause I don’t like to read that much).
    Thank you for sharing! You did an awesome job!

    -Emma

    Reply
  • 2. kyle3933  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Well, Destiny, I can honestly say that you did great with your first speech. If you were afraid when you were giving your presentation, it did not show at all. I am not going to end this comment telling you not to worry too much about speaking in public, since I too, feel no better about it. I will, however, tell you that you did great and that I am sure that you will finish this class with flying colors.

    Kyle

    Reply
  • 3. Destiny  |  January 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

    thanks guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,127 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

