It Wasn’t Bad At All

January 21, 2010 at 9:04 am 2 comments

Today I gave my first speech of the quarter! I read an excerpt from Quiet Strength: A Memoir by Tony Dungy. Though I kept telling myself I was not nervous, I still had some jitters walking up to the podium. Once I was introduced by my classmate, I had to begin. At first all the negative thoughts I had mentioned before were running through my head. But after the first time eye contact was made, the nervousness disappeared! I began to read more confidently and soon forgot that I was even nervous to begin with. In my opinion, my first speech went awesome!

However, there are things to be improved. For instance, many of my classmates mentioned that I spoke a little to fast.  This doesn’t surprise me since people tell me I speak fast in general all the time. I got almost to comfortable and began to talk like I was talking to a friend. I also was told to make more eye contact, which I agree with looking back on my performance. But all in all, it wasn’t too bad! I’m actually excited for the rest of the quarter and feel like I’m on the path to success! Going into this class all I thought was this is gonna be a boring class that I have to listen to people I’m not interested in. But in actuality, I was very interested in what everyone had to say! I’m looking forward to hearing more from everyone and improving my public speaking skills!

Zack K

Picture: http://www.csuohio.edu/ce/images/success.jpg

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

90 Minutes in Heaven our class

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shanna  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I think you did very well!! You didn’t act nervous ro anything! C=

    Reply
  • 2. yungkalf14  |  January 25, 2010 at 1:13 am

    Very interesting reading. Good job

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 168,919 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

