Hiding Behind Your Speech

January 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm 3 comments

He who trims himself to suit everyone will soon whittle himself away. ~Raymond Hull

As I reflect on the speech we’ve done and the speeches ahead of us, I realize that it’s tempting to “hide behind your speech.” Any one of us could make a brilliant speech about a fascinating topic, but if it’s not sincere, what good is it?

I started to think about this during the week between Day One and Day Two of our first speech presentations. The speeches I saw on Day One were heartfelt, moving, and positive. After hearing them, I got discouraged because I don’t have any inspiring personal stories to tell. Yet.

So, I briefly wondered if I should throw my lighthearted reading selection out the window and find something more profound to share with the class.

Then I decided changing topics was a bad idea. It would be way too much work; there are better ways to spend a four-day weekend (like shopping).

More importantly, I really liked my reading choice and knew it well. So I stuck with it. And went shopping.

I want to follow this precedent with the rest of my speeches by picking subjects that reflect who I am, at the risk of saying something controversial or boring or strange in front of everyone.

I hope you will do the same.

-Tarina

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, My Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics.

our class 3rd times a charm

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michaeldein  |  January 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    You did a wonderful job and all of us should feel like we can be ourselves anytime! Each of us are special in some way and I think together we are great!

    Reply
  • 2. clif2226  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Your blog post is rather insightful and I’m surprised that you were discouraged after the first speeches. You delivered a great speech and your reading choice captured the audience’s attention. And shopping sounds a lot more fun than doing homework. Great job!

    Reply
  • 3. Destiny  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Tarina,
    I enjoyed your reading selection very much. The slight humor in it was very appropriate and well appreciated. Don’t ever let anyone or anything make you feel like what you say isn’t important enough!
    Destiny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

