In My Element

February 9, 2010 at 1:41 pm 3 comments

Yesterday I gave my informative speech to the class. I chose to talk about The Ohio State University and what most people don’t think about when they hear those words. At first I was nervous that the audience wouldn’t be receptive of my topic choice and that I would bore everyone to death. But the audience was very receptive and I received many positive comments on my evaluation sheet, and even got told by a few people that I had convinced them to try OSU and that I should be recruiter! šŸ˜€Ā I even got over the nerves! I felt as if I was in my element standing up there and speaking. I’m not a shy person but sometimes I can’t quite break outta my shell. However, standing up thereĀ talking about theĀ awesomeness that is OSU was very easy. It felt so easy to talk about something that I am so passionate about and that I love. I’m very glad I chose to talk about OSU and I hope everyone who doesn’t know where they wanna transfer will take a visit to Columbus! It truly is amazing šŸ™‚

On a second note, I wanna commend two people I thought did a phenomenal job on their speeches. First of all Shanna did awesome on talking about donating blood. She was calm and collected and kept my attention theĀ entire time. I’ve always been leery of donating blood but she has almost convinced me to try it! Well done Shannon! And secondly, although her name escapes my mind at the moment, the girl who talked about being a mother did wonderful as well. She was calm and you could see her passion and connection with her topic! Well done girl whose name I can’t remember!!

I look forward to hearing everyone else’s informative speeches and beginning our demonstration speeches!

Zack K

Attribution: “Script Ohio”
http://www.flickr.com/photos/29101461@N07/2986259802

Entry filed under: informative speech, Reflecting on Experience. Tags: , .

Informative Speech Awe-Inspiring Stories Can Open Minds

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tena  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I loved hearing the enthusiam about Ohio State. You really would be a great spokesman for them. GREAT JOB! You are a natural speaker.

    Reply
  • 2. katiebugme  |  February 11, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Hey! first off great job, you were so informed about OSU. I was in that area a while back my grandson was born sooner then he should of been and spent 2 months in a hospital there so i was able to see some of the buildings you showed during your speech. and you did a great job in decribing them, my son has shown some interest in this being one of his choices to check into after high school your information made me feel a little more comfortable way to go

    Reply
  • 3. Louis Mays  |  February 14, 2010 at 11:29 am

    After reading this, I began to think back to my experiences watching the national champion Alabama Crimson Tide play football this fall. I was fortunate to watch three games. The first game I attended was in Atlanta and a friend and I attended the Virginia Tech-Alabama game at the Georgia Dome. It was a close game and the Tide pulled it out in the fourth quarter over the no. 7 ranked Hokies. A few weeks later, my brother and I drove down to Lexington, Ky. to watch the Tide play the Kentucky Wildcats. I think that game put our Heisman winner on the map as Mark Ingram had a great game! I almost decided to go back Atlanta to watch the Tide play the no. 1 ranked Florida Gators, but I told myself IF they win, I’d make a special trip to the Rose Bowl to watch them play in the BSC national championship game. I am happy to report that Pasadena, Calif. is indeed a beautiful place and the Rose Bowl is both historical and beautiful nestled next to the San Gabriel Mts. Roll Tide!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

