Answer From Above:)

February 21, 2010 at 1:04 pm 3 comments

yessss!

snow. snow. snow.

I’ve never welcomed the snow as much as I have been these last few weeks.

The amazing thing about all this is the fact that I my speech continues to be put off time and time again by this horrible weather, and I’m thinking/hoping we’ll run short on days and maybe not have to give every speech Candee thought we would. One less speech won’t upset me in the least bit. Plus the fact that I’m still NOT READY! and I have so much English to get done and I should be emailing it to my professor but….. it’s not finished. My government has also been put off at least two days, so maybe we won’t all have to go? Hopefully. I pick up extra hours at work when I live a mile away and everyone calls off, and I spend much of my time staying with my grandparents. Grandpa has been getting worse and he has his days where he isn’t able to communicate what he wants/needs/feels. It breaks my heart a little more each time and I feel so sorry for him, but I’m glad I can be here to help. Grandpa and I bond more and more each day. Whether its shoveling snow off the porch, ramp, and sidewalks as grandma yells to get into the house, or checking the mail 9 times a day because he doesn’t remember we did, or sneaking around at 2am so we don’t wake grandma while eating pb+j’s, watching the Cosby show these are memories I’m always going to have and treasure whether he can remember them or not. This snow really is a blessing:) I Love You Grandpa.

Opal Candace:]

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Relieved speech tomorrow

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Destiny  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Opal Candace,
    I have to admit I got a little teary eyed reading your blog. I am now a grown woman with a family of my own, and to this day i think of my papaw every day. I remember sneaking candy with him all the time as a little girl. Savor these precious time that you have with your grandpa, you will look back some day and hold these memories close to your heart.

    Reply
  • 2. emboli1091  |  February 22, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I thought you did an awesome job with your speech today! I know what it’s like to have a grandparent with Alzheimer’s…My grandma doesn’t even know my name anymore and can barely remember my mom’s (her daughter). I just want to encourage you to stay strong though all your grandpa is going though! I can tell you have such a great heart and that you really love your grandparents! I’m can tell just by all your stories today that you are an amazing blessing to them!…Again great job today!

    Reply
  • 3. Regan Dotson  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Cherish those moments with your grandpa I wish I had just one more day with mine. I cherish every memory I have with my grandpa. I know how hard it is to go through what you are dealing with. It’s not easy at all it is sooo hard. Try not to get aggrivated and enjoy every minute with him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,657 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

