The Art-Institute of Cincinnati/Poster Contest

March 1, 2010 at 1:03 pm 1 comment

In my journey to the creation of my poster for entry into the 2010 Art institutes Poster Contest I wanted to be really creative.  I used many things that occur in my everyday life from school, work, my hobbies, and the most important Art. This was the first time that I have worked on computer graphics since I took info tech my freshman year.  I took this concept too mind and began to brainstorm.  I started off with many ideas sketches after sketches, but soon came to like the theme of basketball.  There is a big background dealing with basketball in my life.  I then took my mascot of my high school, which would be the fearsome Blue Jay and put his foot in the shoe.  I wanted to imply and do something that no one did on last years posters so I put a
small paint tube under the foot of the shoe.  Then in order to create the theme for this poster I showed how the paint had been splattered upon the ball thus creating the motto “Life is better with Art in it.”  After the paint had ran down and fell on the floor there were small splatters left on the ball which showed the theme.  After I finished the poster for the first time I had seen that the floor was too plain.  I brainstormed over and over finally coming up with the idea of making a reflection of the shoe along with the paint tube and basketball.  I did it and it came out better than I had anticipated so I kept it.  In order to finish the project I put the name of our mascot with the Art Institute symbol where the A should be.  I put a lot of work into this poster and I believe that it turned out great. Win or Lose I had a great time learning and creating this poster.

Cody

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In The End Visual Reflection

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. fish15  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    NIce. I really didnt understand it at first but after reading about it a get it and i completly understand why it took you so long it do it, im guess im just not that creative. haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

