Fear

March 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm 6 comments

Growing up I played a lot of sports and excelled at most, I had good grades, a “loving boyfriend”, great family, great friends, and going in to my senior year of high school I thought I was on top of the world… I was going places, I had already been accepted to various colleges, and was being looked at for soccer scholarships… Life couldn’t get any better… Or so I thought…

Towards the end of my senior year I found out I was pregnant, I was scared and terrified, a lot of people speculated about me, some of my “friends” weren’t allowed to hang out with me anymore, as if being pregnant is something that you could catch, I was ridiculed and it hurt… I did however graduate from high school with an honor’s diploma…

I waited a year before trying to go back to school, working my butt off to provide for my beautiful daughter Kylie…and support her lazy father, I stayed with him for 3 years and the only good that came out of it was Kylie, I since have moved on and plan on transferring to NKU next winter or Spring.

I have faced a lot of speculation and a lot of criticism over the years, I don’t regret the choices I have made or the things that have come from them, but it’s not as if they didn’t harm me… Being talked about and treated horribly does things to one’s self esteem and that’s part of my problem with public speaking, I get so nervous because I worry that nobody will care what I have to say and people will judge me because they made choices different than mine…

Hopefully this will give you a little insight into my life and maybe you will understand me a little better… I didn’t start this class the same time as everyone else, so I didn’t get to make the connections that you guys have, so maybe after reading this you will feel like you know me, if only a little better.

Meg

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, My Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

End Of The Quarter Coming Soon Art Gallery

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KateB  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Meg, et al;

    I tag surfed to this blog…you should check out mine! I work as a Vocal Dynamics Coach for Professionals and have recently started blogging about my work. I deal more specifically with Voice than with Speech; that is HOW you say what you’re saying is just as important as WHAT you are saying.

    Anyway, thought you might be interested!
    http://katebringardner.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/i-need-that/

    Reply
  • 2. regina  |  March 3, 2010 at 1:47 am

    Hey Meg!

    Just wanted to say your doing a really good job.It’s crazy sometimes how plans in life change, I am a firm believer in not regretting things that make you smile and Im sure your daughter make you smile:) Keep up the great work!!

    Regina

    Reply
  • 3. Shannon  |  March 3, 2010 at 6:02 am

    Hey Meg!
    Im with Regina! I didnt have my little boy while in high school but I found out I was pregnant 3 months after graduation. I never imagined I would have a child already and its crazy how the people that you think are your friends just seem to dissapear when you suddenly have more responsibility and other priorities than them. A child is God’s greatest gift and the love that you have for your daughter is the greatest love ever! Don’t let anyone bring you down! Look at you, you’re doing it by yourself and you aren’t letting anything stop you! I know how hard it is, and I have so much respect for you! Keep up the good work! You’re doing a great job!

    Shannon

    Reply
  • 4. Shanna  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:25 am

    C= Hey Meg!! It took a lot of courage to tell us that..to open up to people you don’t even really know!! That right there shows that you have what it takes to stand out, and have confidence. I really beleive that you will learn to be comfortable with voicing your thoughts, all because of your little girl! C= It sounds like she is your world, and there sill be times when you will have to speak out for her… EVERYTHING happens for a reason in my book! c=

    Reply
  • 5. Dillon  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Meg! This is a side of you I have not really seen in class. You really opened up through this blog. It took a lot of courage to say the things you said! I am very encouraged through you sharing your personal life that maybe I can feel more comfortable in sharing mine!

    Dillon

    Reply
  • 6. yungkalf14  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    Meg, everyone gets nervous its a very normal thing. Although, with this class I feel because of the happy environment that it is easy to get comfortable. What you have to say is important to all of us. You should be proud of yourself for all you have accomplished in such a short time. You have faced a lot of adversity and have beat it. This shows a lot about you and how strong of a person you are. Keep working hard and everything will work out. I look forward to hearing your next speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

