What I didn’t mention

March 2, 2010 at 9:48 am 3 comments

When I got up to do my demonstration speech I had it all wrote out exactly what I was going to say, I had it memorized, I knew it perfectly and practiced more than I care to admit; however when I got up there I didn’t say any of it…

Soccer was always a big part of my life, from the age of 5 on, it was just me and my soccer ball, I couldn’t get enough, I played every kind of soccer I could, spring, fall, indoor, co-ed, varsity, select, I went to camps, tournaments, took private lessons, I even slept with my soccer ball… I could put the ball anywhere in the goal I wanted it and I could even Bend It like Beckham. The soccer field was the only place I felt at peace and at home, accepted even… I’m not an outgoing person, I keep to myself, but soccer gave me a confidence I had never had before and have never had again. I knew when I stepped on the field I could do no wrong, win loss or tie, when I stepped off that field I knew I was the best on the field, whether it’s true or not that’s what I felt…

That’s why I love soccer so much and I regret every day that I don’t still play..

Meg

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Every bunny gets drunk at easter. Demonstration speech or blunder?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dotsonj  |  March 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Thats pretty cool. Good job on your speech by the way.

    Justin

    Reply
  • 2. z11kelley  |  March 2, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Good job, I love soccer and I’m a senior this year so it was my last year. I miss it soooo much!

    Reply
  • 3. Shannon  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Meg- You are doing an awesome job! I know exactly how you feel! I just freeze everytime I have to be up there! It feels like Im fine until Im looking at the entire class, with each of you, staring back at me, and then its over. I have nothing to say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,746 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

