I knew instantly what I was passionate about…

March 3, 2010 at 3:56 pm Leave a comment

Thanks guys for making me feel a little better about my speech! I get so incredibly nervous, and not until I’m standing in front of everyone! Sitting at the desk watching everyone else give their speech I was thinking it would be a lot easier this time, but no, it wasn’t, the same butterflies took over again. I had so much more that I wanted to say.. but the words just wouldn’t come out. Anyhow, a few days before my speech I decided to change my topic, why? Well, my friend Jordan sent me this text message and I just kept thinking, wow, how true is that? Thinking back about what Candee told us about keeping a journal of what we did so that we could learn what we were passionate about, I knew instantly what I was passionate about. I just wanted to share the message with you because it really touched my heart…. 🙂

Before I was a mom I never learned the words to a lullaby. I never thought about immunizations. I have never been puked on, pooped on, drooled on, chewed on, or peed on. I had complete control of my mind, my thoughts, and my life. I slept all night. I never looked into teary eyes and cried. I never got incredibly happy over a simple little grin. I never sat up for hours watching someone sleep. I never felt my heart break into a million pieces when I couldn’t stop the hurt. I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much. I never knew that I could love someone so much before ever even meeting them. Before I was a mom, I didn’t know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.

For those of you who are moms… how true, right? Anyhow, I just wanted to say everyone is doing a phenomenal job on their speeches! I hope my next one is as good as each of yours!

Shannon

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Art Gallery Demonstration Speech

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

