This Class Has Already Helped Me

March 4, 2010 at 7:16 pm 8 comments

Although I know, I’ve only touched the iceberg, speech class has helped me.

My sister went home to be with Jesus in heaven, and her funeral was this week. Evelyn was her name and she was my only sibling. She was 6 years younger than me. Even though we are adults, she will always be my little sister. At her funeral, I decided, I wanted to say a few things about Evelyn. Mostly about the kind of person she was and what she meant to me and my family. The speeches I gave in class and the information I gained in speech class, helped me to stand up and say some-thing for my sister.

It really meant a lot to me.

I would never get this chance again.

At first when I signed up for this class, I didn’t know if I would use the skills offered. It was a required course. Already, while I’m still in speech class, I used what I’ve learned here.
Tina

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Speech Time!! To My Speech Class

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  March 4, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Hey Tina!
    Sorry to hear that your sister passed, but you are right-she is home now, where she belongs 🙂 Its great to hear that you were able to use what you have learned in class already! I can already tell these new learned skills are so worth the -Im gonna die feeling that I had at the begining of the quarter, its not so bad 🙂
    Shannon

    Reply
  • 2. dotsonj  |  March 5, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Sorry to hear about your sister,but agree speech class has helped alot i was worried at first but now its easer to talk in front of people.

    Justin

    Reply
  • 3. michaeldein  |  March 5, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I too, am sorry for your loss. You are certainly a positive person to point out the benefits of speech class at such a time of transition. Things work out in funny ways and maybe speech class was your destiny, giving you the skill and experience to express yourself when it mattered most in your life!

    I hope the best for you and your family!

    Mike……..

    Reply
  • 4. winddancer26  |  March 6, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Tina- The loss of family is absolutely heart wrenching. But, you have strong faith in your religion, which I am SURE has helped you get through this terrible time. On a personal note, I am very proud of you for speaking about your sister. It took tremendous courage, but you did it for her, and you know she’s thankful. I agree with you, this class has shown us many things that we will use in the “real” world. Best wishes to you and yours. ~Heather K

    Reply
  • 5. Mandi  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Tina,
    I am so sorry to hear about your sister. You did a wonderful thing by getting up the courage to stand up therre in your time of loss to say things about your sister. You also did a great job preparing your speech.~~Mandi~~

    Reply
  • 6. Dillon  |  March 9, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Tina you are certainly a strong person, garning the courage to speak in such a time of hurt in your life..I too am sorry for the loss.
    Losing people who are close to you is always a tough thing. I am glad you got the oppurtunity to speak on your sister’s behalf. I am sure it would have meant a lot to her!

    Dillon

    Reply
  • 7. regina  |  March 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Sorry to hear you lost someone so dear to you Tina, its wonderful to hear that you were able to be strong enough to speak some words for your sister, Im sure she is very proud of you for being the great person you are! Were all here for you:)

    Reply
  • 8. yungkalf14  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Tina, I am sorry to hear about your sister. At least she is in a better place. It is great that you have already been able to use what you have learned in this class in real life situations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

