entering an unknown land

March 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm 7 comments

I really did not know what to expect when I switched from my 830 speech class to the 1230 class. It is hard enough to speak in front of people you half way know much less a crowd of people you have never met. But, as I watched the way the class reacted to each other it was very easy to get comfortable. The class is a good positive atmosphere with a wide variety of people, a little more open minded then some of my previous classes. I kinda wish i would have started this year in this class. And, as always, I wish I had more drive towards college…………..

Lochlann

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience.

Time Flies… How Far We’ve Come

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  March 10, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Yes, I know what you mean. It is hard to speak in front of a class, expecially when you are new and you don’t know what to expect. Glad you found it to your liking.
    As for your drive for school, I find it best to just take it one day at a time, and don’t quit. Everyone has to find a place in this world.
    Believe me, it will be a lot better with an education. You can do it.
    You are doing it.

    Reply
  • 2. sandra taylor  |  March 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    you really made our class complete when you came in you are doing a wonderful job just kept it up and i’am sure you will go far!

    Reply
  • 3. Destiny  |  March 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Lochlann,
    You have done a great job speaking in front of our class. Especially, not having the time to get to know us. I know from watching your speeches that you have it in you to do a great job in college, just put your mind to it and be stubborn!
    Destiny

    Reply
  • 4. annette58  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I would’t have known you just came into our class if I didn’t already know it. I know it was hard but you did a great job! Keep it up you’ll go far.Good Luck Joan

    Reply
  • 5. gothicmaster666  |  March 12, 2010 at 2:55 am

    Lochlann, I have known you before you stepped into the classroom. I tell you, I think that you wouldn’t have to worry about this class eating you alive. Everyone has that fear, though it is probably far greater it is for you than the rest of us. But, this class is kind towards everyone because we are all understanding and I think that you have some very wonderful and creative things to say. Just speak up, let your voice be heard, and hold your head up high. I will back you up every step of the way but I don’t think that you will have any problems.

    Reply
  • 6. Loren  |  March 13, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    You have been doing a great job with your speeches. It feels like you’ve been in class with us all along! Yeah sometimes school gets so overwhelming that you don’t even want to go, but like Tina said, you just have to take one day at a time and just be the best you can be! Good Luck!

    Reply
  • 7. winddancer26  |  March 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    You’re right. Our class rocks!!!! It is even better when you come on time : P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

