Our Final Week in Speech Class

March 14, 2010 at 1:28 pm 10 comments

This is our final week in speech class. And although it consisted of only a few months, I feel it has changed me for the better. I was very apprehensive coming into the classroom, on that first day. Even so it didn’t take long for me to start feeling good about it. The first day, Candee made us all feel welcome. She also helped us realize that we were not alone in our fears of speaking publicly. A transition from feeling that ours peers would be harsh critiques, to letting us know we were in this together and we had a lot in common. The whole class started opening up their thoughts and feelings, and this brought us together. We wanted our classmates to know we were supporting them.  I guess this is where it is important to let your audience know, in the content of your speech, what is the common ground, between you and them. We could look beyond our differences and see our similarities. We all do not have the same thoughts and beliefs, but can respect and want good for each other. I want to let all my fellow classmates know, it has truly been a privilege, and a learning experience to be in this class with you. I hope the best for everyone. And to Candee, you are a great instructor ! You brought us to a place of wanting to make a difference with our speeches.

Tina

Entry filed under: Finding Your Voice, Listening, Meaning, My Voice, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

My Voice Finals Week

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yungkalf14  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Good blog Tina. I to feel that this class has changed me for the better and I am sure others feel the same way. I think all of us were a little nervous but Candee did a great job of creating a good environment for all the students.

    Reply
  • 2. davi2276  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:55 am

    This is a good blog. I agree with yungkalf14 in sayig we all had intial nerves but I just wanted to say thank you and that you taught me a lot throughout the course of this quarter.

    Reply
  • 3. vanoverma  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Good Blog Tina!!! I am starting to get more relaxed in this class as well, and I also feel that it has changed me for the better… 🙂

    Meg

    Reply
  • 4. cailabrianne  |  March 15, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I totally agree with you!!!!!!100%

    Reply
  • 5. fish15  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I agree also, this class has helped me a lot!

    Reply
  • 6. zdollich  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    i know that i am ready to go out into the would and be as scared as what i would usually be but its still not my favorite thing to do.

    Reply
  • 7. sarah mcilwain  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I def. agree, this class has helped me so much, Im even doing better in my other classes.

    Reply
  • 8. clif2226  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    I think everyone was a bit apprehensive about taking this class, but I completely agree with you. Candee has made this class a relaxed learning environment for everyone. We can all come away from this class with a new perspective on something and use what we have learned in the future.

    Reply
  • 9. kyle3933  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    You are absolutely correct; this class has been great for all of us. Even though we all were a little nervous when this quarter began, because of Candee’s upbeat personality and our belief in each other, I think we will all walk away better people from the experiences that we have shared.

    Kyle

    Reply
  • 10. Mandi  |  March 17, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Great way of putting things into words Tina. I am sure all of us feel the same way as you do. Candee did a great job of making us all feel welcome this quarter as I am sure she does every quarter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 168,919 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

