Just another stereotype…

March 16, 2010 at 9:56 pm Leave a comment

So this quarter I took a psychology class and there was something that was said and was in print that stuck with me, what I have been fighting against since I was 18 years old and I had my daughter. Our psychology book says that those of us who do get pregnant at a young age are destined to be low-income single parents living on welfare with no chance of furthering our education… Now for those of you who don’t know I am a single parent, I however, have a full-time job, my own place, and have a full class load at school, I made Dean’s list last quarter… I don’t understand how you can possibly think that just because I had my daughter at 18 years old that I will never amount to anything… For me it’s simple I know that I can be as good as I want to be… This is not the first time this has been said either, so the next time you look at someone and begin to judge think of what I just told you, we’re not stereotypes, we’re individuals, each with the potential for greatness, what you choose to do with it is up to you.

Meg

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Things I learned in Speech The Art of Public Speaking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,674 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

