Joan’s Cell Phone Speech

March 18, 2010 at 12:38 pm 2 comments

I owe Joan a huge thank you! I used to be an avid texter/driver…at the same time. I have been clean now for 3 days. LOL! The video that Joan showed of the car accident broke my heart. I can’t bear the thought of my children being in the back seat yelling for me to wake up! The moment that I saw her clip I vowed to break my habit. That is truly what texting while driving is. For most people they don’t even think about it; it’s just second nature. Believe it or not, every time I get in my van I have to make it a point to not use my phone. It has been much more difficult than I thought it would be, but like I said, day 3 is almost over and I’m doing very well.

Not only did Joan’s video clip have an impact on me, but on my husband as well. After watching it he said that he would put the phone away while driving too! I also tagged the video onto my facebook page so that my friends and family would watch it.

Thanks Joan!

Destiny

Entry filed under: Meaning, Persuasive Speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Silver and Gold Goodbye?? NAH!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike  |  March 21, 2010 at 3:23 am

    I agree, that video was an eye opening experience. And good for you and your husband Destiny!! That is what I love about our speeches….I feel if I can change just one mind….I did my part! Joan certainly made several people think and probably at least a few, like yourself, to change their habit in general. That is wonderful.

    Hello and good luck to everyone!!!!

    Mike D.

    Reply
  • 2. gilp8139  |  April 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    That must have been hard to watch that video and I know for a fact that you shouldn’t use your phone while you drive because my sister does it all of the time and she doesn’t even watch the road. I have to tell her to watch out or pull over and let me drive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

