AAAHHHH…… the first speech

April 9, 2010 at 9:30 am Leave a comment

Today I gave my first speech, it was a reading and I have to say I was only slightly nervous. I think this was a combination of my personality, and the atmosphere of the classroom. In class, I feel quite comfortable. We have all worked in small groups together, and presented our group projects, so today really wasn’t the first time I had to talk in front of everyone, which helps. Plus, the first time I did have to talk in front of everyone, I did it with my group, which takes a lot of the pressure off.

Overall I felt that my reading went well. I read a children’s book, which is totally in my comfort zone, because I work with kids, making it easier for me to feel comfortable being animated, and getting into the story. I really enjoyed this speech, and hope the rest go this smoothly.

Kayla

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Group Communication, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Uncategorized.

Your Family Can be Your Support System 1st Speech around the corner and the nerves set in

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,127 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

