Saving Speech Class for Last

April 15, 2010 at 9:23 am 3 comments

When I came to SSCC around two years ago I told myself to save Speech Class for the last quarter, and here we are, my last quarter and I’m in Speech class. These past two years has really helped me grow as a person and open myself up to new ideas. I’ve learned to communicate better in general and talk in front of people.  I was always kind of scared to talk in front of people.  I build it up in my mind much worse than what it really ever is. But now I’m learning that it’s not bad at all. The main thing really in my eyes is to relax and stay confident.

Over all I’m excited to be in Speech class and Candee Basford is a great teacher. She really know how to make you feel comfortable and that always helps.

Justin

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Joy in Speech Class Blogs are nothing but Smoke

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. port4328  |  April 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I agree. After going here for a few years and getting to know people, it makes it easier to talk in front of them. It has helped me out a lot. When I went into class the first day I thought I wouldnt know anyone, but turns out I knew a lot of people, and the ones I didn’t know, I talked to and I made a couple new friends. (:

    Reply
  • Glad to hear it’s going well for you. I teach people to make presentations as my job and, well…. it’s never as hard as people think!

    Glad you’re getting chance to learn public speaking in a Class!

    Simon

    Reply
  • 3. joy0  |  April 20, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Glad to hear your liking the class Justin. I agree with you about Mrs. Basford she does make it relaxing and I am enjoying it as well in her class

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,714 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

