Sense of Relief

April 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm 1 comment

After the reading in class Tuesday I felt a huge sense of relief when I sat down. I was actually less nervous this time than I had ever been when giving any sort of speech in a class. But I was very stressed prior to this, due to fear of not finding a reading that would flow and be just the right length. My original topics on Pearl Jam and the Joker were kind of choppy and would jump from one storyline (in the Joker’s case) to another or was extremely long (Pearl Jam’s history is 20 years long and still going). I think some of my overall problems anymore are that I either don’t use enough eye contact or I don’t speak loud enough for everyone to hear (I will work on this however! :)).

There was so much variety in the readings. Each was unique and I really enjoyed all of them. I noticed a lot of people said they felt really nervous. But when each person read, they sounded perfectly fine and really did a great job.

The next few speeches will be over and done before we even know it!

Clayton

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

A Nervous Step My First Speech

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. chris1013  |  April 22, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    i dont think everyone did a bad job as far as nervousness goes except maybe me. but i cant wait for our next speeches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

