I’m feeling a little more comfortable in speech class. Here’s why.

April 16, 2010 at 9:12 am 6 comments

Where do I begin? It’s the second week of speech class, I was very nervous at first because I’m kind of quiet and I don’t like speaking to a crowd. My nervousness is starting to subside a little and I feel a little more comfortable because our instructor has us doing a lot of group activities, like making outlines of chapters on giant post-its and speaking to the class about it as a group. This makes it fun and interesting. And, in the process we are getting to know one another and in turn making it easier and more comfortable to speak in front of the class. I like that she is going about it this way because it’s slowly easing us into it and not doing what I thought was going to happen; throwing us right in there to give a speech to the class.

This may not be as bad as I thought it would be. I think it will be fun and memorable.

Mike

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Group Communication, public speaking, Uncategorized.

My First Speech Standing in front

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rd1977  |  April 16, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I agree, I think if we were just thrown up there and told to give a speech it would be alot harder. I like the fact that she eases us into it.

    Reply
  • 2. Kayla Eaton  |  April 16, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Its defenitely fun…….and memorable šŸ™‚ its truning out to be one of my favorite classes

    Reply
  • 3. joy0  |  April 20, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    I agree the group activities are helpful mike. see ya in class

    Reply
  • 4. chris1013  |  April 22, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    i agree as well, the group activities make it alot easier.

    Reply
  • 5. beck6287  |  May 3, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    I also Agree I think we are very lucky to have such a relaxed instructor at our college who really knows the way public speaking works. For example in speech class we have participated in so many great activities and at the same time we are learning new ways of speaking in public.

    -Logan-

    Reply
  • 6. jmodlin  |  May 31, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    i also agree,just like everyone else,im going to miss this class. i dont think thier is another class like this one under my major

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

