First Big Step to Overcoming My Fear

May 2, 2010 at 3:48 pm 1 comment

When I first signed up for speech class I kept thinking to myself why did I choose to take this class? I mean I’m not an outspoken person, far from. Before the first class I thought so many times I’ll just go and drop it and take a different class; but I didn’t. I decided to go to my first day of class and I’m really glad I did. I could tell as I walked through the door that day that I wasn’t the only one terrified for my life. I could feel the tension in the room. Candee (our instructor) really made me feel good about the class and I was really excited to come back. But then the first speech came up.

Oh my… What was I gonna do. I hate getting in front of people.  I’m always the shy girl that keeps to herself. So many things ran through my head as I tried to figure out something to read. What am I going to read? Should I pick something I like or should I pick something that others will enjoy? How am I even going to be able to get up and speak to people I don’t know? Well the day came and I chose to read something I’m very passionate about. I decided to read a poem an elderly lady had written while staying in a nursing home and the care she had received.

I watched as my classmates took the stage and did a great job. With every person that got up and read my nerves went crazy. I felt as if I was going to pass out as I walked to the front of the to deliver my reading. As I looked around the class everyone was staring at me, this just made me more nervous. I took a deep breath and started my reading. It came easier than I thought and as I looked around I could tell people were into it. I’m really glad that everyone enjoyed it. I was also really pleased to get the feedback from Candee, she made me feel really good about the whole thing.

This was truly one of the scariest things I have done but I’m glad I stuck it out and tried. I’m looking forward to the next speeches to come in class, this doesn’t mean I won’t be scared but I am excited about it!!

To read the poem I read for my speech an “Old Lady’s Poem” go to Nurses are Angels.

Lacie

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Next speech coming soon 2nd speech down and getting comfortable

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

