The Fear of Our First Reading

June 29, 2010 at 3:12 pm 6 comments

I enjoyed our first readings, because I realized everyone else seemed scared and nervous. I worried about getting up in front of everyone and reading all day long. Everything I wanted to read sounded lame to me. For some reason I thought everyone else was comfortable with reading in front of everyone, but I soon realized that assumption was wrong. At least that first reading is over with and now we can move on. I just don’t want to get up in front of the class and look stupid. That feeling has always held me back in every aspect of my life. I hope this class will help me be more comfortable speaking in public.

My first reading was a poem called The Bombardment of Bristol. It stood out to me because I really enjoy reading older poetry and literature. I didn’t know that we had even tried to conquer Quebec, Canada. I thought that my voice projected well and was loud enough. I think it might have been a little short because it took 3 min. to read when I was practicing. However, when I got up there I read extremely fast and made no pauses at all. I need to work on eye contact as well, but I felt more comfortable with my head down.

I loved the readings from everybody. The few readings that was very heart-felt and emotional, I respect them very much for being courageous enough to perform them. The readings with back stories and those that were memorized, I really liked them as well.

David

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Overcoming Fear Emerging from the dirt

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. back7865  |  July 3, 2010 at 9:05 am

    David, You did a great job but like me it did feel rushed a bit. I know I have to work on eye contact and slowing down my speech. Everyone wrote that I needed to do that so everyone can not be wrong. Keep up the good work and we will both have to try harder.. good luck

    Reply
  • 2. jules32  |  July 3, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    You guys are not the only one that needs to work on eye contact. I wrote work on eye contact on more than half of the students suggestion sheets. Then I get up there and do the same thing. What do we need to do to get over the eye contact fear?

    Reply
  • 3. dona8790  |  July 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I agree with you there, about everyone being nervous. The butterflies were in everyone’s stomach that evening. I guess it’s the fear of messing up and then wondering how everyone is going to react. I appreciated seeing everyones bravery and topics they chose to write about. I also didn’t know that the United States tried to conquer Quebec, Canada. It’s neat when you learn something new everyday. I look forward to hearing the classes future speeches.

    Reply
  • 4. mcreeder  |  July 18, 2010 at 7:59 am

    “I just don’t want to get up in front of the class and look stupid. That feeling has always held me back in every aspect of my life” on this quote from your posting I agree whole heartedly. I have always felt this way and the realization that everyone else felt that way helped me out tremendously.

    Reply
  • 5. burn6353  |  July 20, 2010 at 10:04 am

    David,

    You did a fine job on your first reading just like everyone else! Eye contact is a big thing with our class, but I’m sure we will all get better.
    🙂

    Reply
  • 6. newguy2878  |  July 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    i thought you did a great job with your reading. I hope you make it to te next. The informative speeches were great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,581 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

