Public speaking…

July 1, 2010 at 5:44 pm 2 comments

I usually have no problems speaking in public until it is unfamiliar territory.  I am a law enforcement training officer.  I teach at the local police academy and to the general public.  I regularly speak at neighborhood watch meeting etc, but all of the afore-mentioned things are part of my job.  I don’t have to put much thought into it because it has become second nature.

Now that I am going to college, I am tossed out of my comfort zone.  I’m in my 4th quarter here and every quarter I have to get up and speak about something.  Usually it’s for English and I have to talk about a paper I wrote or read some type of poem or book out loud.

The other night was my bad.  I should have put more effort into the assignment and been more prepared.  I’ve read through all of the comments and they all pretty much gave the same advice, “eye contact and prepare better.”  I shall take that advice and hopefully be on the ball for the next speech.

Thanks everyone

Adam

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Emerging from the dirt Finding the courage for the first speech

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fawn  |  July 2, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I feel the same way. It comes natural to talk about something you know. The words just slip right off your tongue until you get in front of the unknown class members. I am sure you will get better! I loved this class!

    Reply
  • 2. David  |  July 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. I have trained numerous people in the heating & cooling field. College readings and speeches seem to be completely different.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

