Preparing for my Speech

July 9, 2010 at 11:35 am 2 comments

I have not had the chance to give my first speech yet. I had to have one of my wisdom teeth taken out and was unable to attend class the day the speeches were given. I have been preparing to give my speech though. I chose a children’s book that I used to read when I was younger.

Choosing the book was the easy part. I then had to think of an introduction and conclusion to my reading and I had some help from my girlfriend. She asked me questions about why I chose the book and what I liked about it and I used the answers to her questions for my introduction and conclusion. It was a lot easier than I though it would be. I have read in front of my family, read out loud to myself and timed myself. My family has given me feedback and suggestions to improve what I say and how I say it. I am usually comfortable talking in front of people but when I am standing in front of the class ready to give my speech that might change.

I am looking forward to giving my first speech and I wish I could have been there to hear everyone else’s.

Scott

Entry filed under: Public Reading, public speaking, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Speaking in Public Thanks

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  July 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Do not feel bad, I am nervous about preparing my speech too. The speeches are completely different than the readings.

    Reply
  • 2. penn7385  |  July 20, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    The first speech was the killer for everyone, but it just keeps getting easier. You’ll be fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,714 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

