Thanks

July 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm 3 comments

I am writing in this blog as an assignment for my speech class. I was not sure what to write about, so I am going to write this in two parts. Part one as a thank you to my classmates for all they shared during our reading assignment. Part two as an explanation of who I am and why I picked JFK’s inaugural speech as my reading assignment.

It was amazing to hear all of my classmate’s readings. So many of you shared private details about yourself and told great stories. It is amazing to hear how talented you all are with your own written poems and your willingness to get up and read in front of people. I would like to thank you all for what you shared.

I am not a very good public speaker and I was never more nervous to stand up and read, but more important to me is to face my fears and get a good grade in this class. I spent three years in high school ROTC as a leader and never once had a problem giving orders. However I could not read out loud in any of my other classes without getting nervous. I think that it is important for me to feel that I have the authority to be in front of people. I think that this class is going to be great for me; I am already learning that it is important to be prepared before you give your speech and that is something that I have never done before.

I also want to share why I choose John F. Kennedy’s inaugural speech. JFK is a very important person to me in history. For the short time he ran this country he did so much. One major thing that he did was to start the Peace Corps. This is an amazing organization that helps people and countries all around the world. My plan is to join the Peace Corps after I get my bachelors degree in computer science. I have been in the Army and now I want to see the other side of this world. Travel is also very important to me and the Peace Corps will help with this, all the while I will get to help people. I will be explaining more about the Peace Corps in my informative speech. Once again thank you to all my classmates and my teacher.

Josh

Entry filed under: My Voice, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Preparing for my Speech What I thought I Knew about Group Speaking

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dona8790  |  July 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    You did a great job Josh. I have always liked that historical speech by J.F.K myself. I think it is a different mind-set when you are an adult in the real world, as opposed to being a minor in high school. The fear is still there, but you then realize how bad you need to do things right. I enjoyed your reading along with everyone elses.

    Reply
  • 2. raygay715  |  July 12, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Josh I think you did a great job! Historical speeches seem to be harder to me because you really have to play the part of what and who you are replicating. I think you did great and I look forward to hearing more of your speeches!

    Reply
  • 3. mull6783  |  July 17, 2010 at 9:00 am

    It’s funny how we both picked something from a former president to read to the class. I thought you did an excellent job on it. I also find it interesting that you would like to join the Peace Corps. I am not sure if I could do something in that effect. Not that I wouldn’t like to help people. The fact that I would be away from may family is the issue for me. Good luck on your endeavors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,736 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

