Confidence Awareness

July 12, 2010 at 11:12 pm 6 comments

Public Speaking has never really been a priority on my list of things to do or to accomplish.  However, after the start of this Pubic Speaking class not only do I feel more confident but I feel as if I can relate to other that have some of the same fears as myself.  I feel like this class is fun yet teaches initiative and helping all of us to relate to not only ourselves but to others and how they view themselves and you.  We  are also starting to understand that we should be confident in what we are and what we stand for as far is our choices in Public Speaking.  I see myself getting more confident and aggressive in speaking in front of an audience.  This class does more than just teach us how to speak but also how to be confident and strong in how we present our speeches.

I chose a poem that my mother wrote for my great grandfather’s funeral. He was very dear to our family, in essence the glue that held separate families together.  Although we are all family, we live very separate lives.  My mom wrote words that connected us all in a thought of a man who we all loved dearly on equal levels.  I like to show emotion in the way that I speak whether it be serious and personal or fun and light-hearted.  My introduction seemed to be the part that was most important, as I set the stage for where and how the poem came to terms.  I did seem to get a little nervous once I started reading due to the emotions that I felt as I read the poem and how it made me feel the day of the funeral.  My family is very important to me and it’s never easy to display emotion when it comes to the way I feel about them or even a close friend.

Regean

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Uncategorized.

What I thought I Knew about Group Speaking Informative Informant

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. burn6353  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Regean,

    You did a great job reading your mothers poem. It was very touching and wonderful to hear.

    Tori

    Reply
  • 2. James Andrews  |  July 13, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    The most important part of being a salesman is confidence. Confidence is like going after Moby Dick with a rowboat, a harpoon and a jar of tartar sauce.”

    Reply
  • 3. mull6783  |  July 17, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I thought the poem was a good selection to read. I could see the emotion in your tone and also in your eyes. I could tell that this poem really meant a lot to you and I thank you for sharing it with us.

    Reply
  • 4. newguy2878  |  July 20, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    The poem you read was very nice and you are right about the class. This class has tought me to feel beter about public speaking. You did a great job and than you for sharing something speical.

    Reply
  • 5. raygay715  |  July 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Thank you to all of you for the wonderful comments!

    Reply
  • 6. jules32  |  July 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I really enjoyed your poem that you shared with the class. It takes a lot of courage to share personal things with strangers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,348 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

