I Didn’t Thinking Demonstrating Something Was Going to be So Hard

July 30, 2010 at 12:27 pm 4 comments

When I went in class Monday night I really thought I was going to do a better job demonstrating how to make a pot holder. I probably could make one with my eyes shut. It is so different when you are trying to show someone how to do it. Even though I  feel comfortable with the students in my class, it all changes once I stepped up in front of the class. I feel like my heart is going to jump out of my chest and do a little dance on the podium. I also didn’t really think that trying to teach someone how to make a pot holder was going to be so difficult.  I guess the fear of giving the speech is a whole lot more scary when your trying to teach someone to do something that they might be a pro at. You have those thoughts of what if I say or do something wrong and someone catches my mistake. A demonstration speech is a lot more intense than just giving a regular speech.

Julie

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation.

Informative Speeches Remembered My Informative Speech

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scott Stevens  |  July 31, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I thought your speech on how to make pot holders was really good.

    Reply
  • 2. gigipooh  |  August 1, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I thought you did very well Julie on your demonstation. I use the little pot holder you helped Gabriel make me for a coaster for my coffe cup..

    Reply
  • 3. mull6783  |  August 2, 2010 at 8:15 am

    You did a very good job on your demonstration. It is hard to show someone how to do something that you are good at, because you forget to tell them some of the steps we your are doing it. I am one of the worse when it comes to showing someone how to do something. I thought you did very well and it seems that I was the only one who ever made one before.

    Reply
  • 4. hstd1999  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I just want to say that you did a really good job on all your speeches. I enjoyed listen to you and you always presented them with passion. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Always look at what you have accomplished and be proud. Good luck in you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

