My First Speech

August 2, 2010 at 10:27 pm Leave a comment

Where do I start.. I’ll go back to the beginning.  I have dropped speech class twice. Now, I am down to nine classes before I graduate and I had no choice but to take it and get it out of the way. I have never had to nor wanted to talk in front of people. I have always been scared to get in front of people that I didn’t know or a big crowd. I am kind of shy and not the loud one of the bunch. So, our first speech was an easy one for the most part. We had to pick a topic to read. I choose “Clifford.” I have read it over and over to my niece so I was really familiar with the book. I remember being very nervous reading the book in front of the class cause I didn’t really know anyone. But I didn’t make a lot of eye contact which made it easier. I was so glad to get done  I felt myself starting to read faster then normal and sweating. Its crazy how easy it is to read in front of my niece but then in front of a crowd everything changes.

Joe

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

puzzles Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

