Persuasive Speech

August 11, 2010 at 6:24 pm 1 comment

The persuasive speech was nerve-racking for me, I had dreaded the persuasive speech from the beginning of the quarter. The day finally arrived that it was time to do the persuasive speech. I felt that when I got up at the podium I was more nervous than I had been in the prior three speeches. However, I bit my lip then began the speech; I have one small malfunction for getting the word dependent. But I believe that the rest of the speech went remarkably well.

I chose to step out of my comfort zone and not use a computerized visual for my speech. This also added to my nerves since I am more comfortable using technology to better presentations. When I chose to do this I was thinking of myself and how it would better the learning experience in the classroom for me. Because later in life I am sure I will need to give a speech or presentation without the use of technology.

Thank you Ms. Basford for such a wonderful class and helping me see that I can speak in front of people.

Matt

Entry filed under: My Voice, Persuasive Speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Power of the voice.. Learning from others

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hstd1999  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I would like to say that I enjoyed all of your speeches. In the beginning you said that you were just boring matt, not true at all. You have many talent and gifts to give don’t be afraid of using them ever. Good Luck with you journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

