“Always Be Prepared” is not just a Boy Scout Motto

September 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm Leave a comment

Like many people, I have never been a great public speaker. The mere thought of getting up in front of people makes my stomach do somersaults. Then I start to sweat. My biggest phobia is heights, followed closely by public speaking.  I do not know why people have such a hard time speaking. It is probably the feeling of the bull’s-eye painted on your forehead. Or maybe it is the feeling that you will not know what you are talking about. At some point in our lives we will have to speak publicly. We just have to master our fear.

I have found that the more I know about a subject, the less nervous I am. Last year I spent four months as an electrical instructor. Every day I would have to stand in front of twenty-five people and try to keep them engaged for four hours. Every day I had to overcome my fear. But, I found out that if I was not well versed on a subject that I was more nervous. Practice does help. Not everybody will be put in this kind of situation. Maybe just a toast at a friend’s wedding or a fifteen minute business presentation. Have you heard the old saying that practice makes perfect?  Let me tell you from experience that it does.

Nobody wants to listen to a bad speech. Nobody wants a speaker to fail. Nobody wants to have their time wasted and not get anything from a speech or presentation. There is no better feeling than delivering a great speech. The way the crowd hangs on every word is indescribable. Your speech does not have to be perfect to be good. Just be prepared and have fun with it.

Shawn H.

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

I had a Connection to those Soldiers Falling short

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

