I had a Connection to those Soldiers

September 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm 3 comments

The art of public speaking class went well today. We finally got logged into our blog. I had all the home work done but there was a spill on highway outside the college so we didn’t do much in class and our instructor didn’t collect the home work. I hope everyone involved in that accident caused by the oil spill is alright. I still need to find a piece to read by Friday. I really do not have a clue what I want to read. I am sure I will find something that I am interested in.

I am kinda of nervous that I have to read in front of  a group of people I do not know. I have spoken in front of over one hundred people, but they were soldiers that were having to do the same thing I was. That was difficult for me because my audience ranged from seventeen years old to forty-two years old. The only thing that made it easy was that I had I had been through a lot with those guys. They had become like family to me. I hope this reading that I have to do goes as good as that training. I do need to find a topic though. That was what was nice about the training. I knew ahead of time what I had to speak and teach and had a connection with who I was speaking to before hand. It should be a good experience for me. I am a big talker to I just have to think that it is like talking to friends of mine. I can not show that I am nervous because it will come out in my speech. I need to sound confident in myself, and show that I am interested in my topic. If I am not interested in my topic then my audience in turn will not be interested.
Shawn F.

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Delivering a good speech “Always Be Prepared” is not just a Boy Scout Motto

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shawn H  |  October 5, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    You did pretty good. I am glad that you found a reading topic that was close to your heart.

    Reply
  • 2. pammy53  |  October 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Thank you for the comment, I really appreciate, all of the feedback that I can get at this point.

    Reply
  • 3. judith  |  October 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I thought you speech was great, you picked something that was near and dear to you. i have such an appreication for our troops, i just loved to hear anything i can about them! awesome job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

