1st Week of Class=Helpful and Exciting‏

September 29, 2010 at 8:46 am Leave a comment

So far in speech class I have learned many interesting things. I like working in groups when we made posters. I really enjoyed this assignment because it gave us a chance to socialize and to learn their opinions over chapters 1, 2, and 3 in the book. I learned that it is normal to be nervous when giving a speech. I thought that when I got nervous it was because I was inexperienced in making speeches. I learned that most people are nervous even if they have made many speeches in their life. I also learned that you should take your nervousness in a positive way, instead of being worried and not wanting to make the speech. As I was reading chapter 12, I found that is challenging for me to not pause with words like “um” or “uh.” I have a tendency to use those words when I give speeches. Also I need to slow down how fast I give speeches. I talk fast so I can get the speech over with but it is harder for the audience to understand me. My goal for the end of speech class is, I will slow down my speeches and I will not put unnecessary words in my speeches. I will also make my words clear and precise. So far I feel that this class will help me a lot whenever I have to give public speeches in the future.

Aletha

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Nervous About Speech Class And We Are Off!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

