And We Are Off!

September 29, 2010 at 2:31 pm 1 comment

The thought of being in a speech class was all but comforting. I have never been the best public speaker and I have always been terrified of it. However within the first five minutes of being in class my fears subsided. I felt so comfortable and realized that many others were just as concerned. The anxiety continued to go down as I also read the first three chapters out of our text book. Everything they had to say was extremely helpful and made me realize that public speaking isn’t as bad as what I may have made it out to be. It taught me that everyone gets nervous when speaking in front of an audience but you can use that to your advantage; adrenaline can be a good thing for a situation like this! These chapters also give you helpful hints on how to prepare for a speech. Things such as rehearsing, thinking positively, and using visualization can all be helpful in getting yourself ready for a speech. Also mentioned in these chapters are more serious issues when it comes to speeches. These including ethics and plagiarizing. It is really important to be cautious of these things if you want to have a successful speech. Finally, the last chapter was concerned mainly with the listener. This part was actually interesting to read because when it comes to giving a speech we don’t realize the way the audience behaves is just as important as what the speaker is saying and doing. This really got me to think about my actions and how I can be a good listener for the speakers I listen to. Even though I have only been in two speech classes so far I already feel more confident and assured from the little bit of reading and just talking in class. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the quarter has to hold!

Natasha

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience.

1st Week of Class=Helpful and Exciting‏ I admit

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Simpson_LA  |  October 5, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Trust me, I felt the same as you did. I was comforted not only by the easy-going nature of our teacher but also by the relaxed environment of the students. It also helped me relax knowing that there was going to be some familiar faces in the crowd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

