Nervous About Speech Class

September 29, 2010 at 8:14 am Leave a comment

September 20, 2010 was my first day of speech class. I was very nervous that I would not be able to do any speeches or be too nervous to do a speech in front of a class.  Then after the first day of class was over I thought I might actually like this class.  Since then I have learned a lot about making speeches.  Some things that I have learns surprised me about being part of speech class.  Some of the facts about speech giving are that it’s okay to be nervous about giving a speech because everyone is usually nervous any way before giving a speech. So a good tip before giving a speech is to take deep breaths and just focus on what you are going to say not on messing up.  Then another important detail to remember when you are speaking is to make sure you take it seriously because that speech could help you in the future, maybe to get a job or get a raise or maybe advance in your job placement.  And then a listening , something that might seem strange  to be discussing in regards to public speaking.  But this is very important in speech because to give a good speech you must be able to listen well to a speech. Then, I learned not to listen to hard because this can be a bad thing to.  This was very strange to me because I always thought that listening too well was a good thing.  I was wrong.  When you listen too hard you usually don’t get the whole message of the speech.

The homework that I had in speech class helped me a lot about how to speak and how to answer question after a speech.  So even though I was very nervous about speech, I think I’m going to like this class and enjoy it.

Richard

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Falling short 1st Week of Class=Helpful and Exciting‏

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

