Breathe!

September 30, 2010 at 10:34 am 2 comments

Who knew so much went into giving a speech. There was a lot of useful information in chapter 12. Things that I would not have thought of, such as reading in front of a mirror or doing a dress rehearsal. I think having your friends and family help with the question and answer session is a good idea also. However I didn’t see anything mentioned about remembering to breathe. Remembering to breathe is very important as I found out in Carol Callahan’s English 100 Class. While reading my essay out loud in class I forgot to breathe between sentences because I was rushing to get finished. You should never do this! By the time I got to my last sentence I sounded as if I had been freshly strangled and I’m sure I had a freshly strangled look on my face also!!

Sherri

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Those First Few Days Delivering a good speech

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aletha Angelus  |  October 4, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I found it strange also to practice in front of a mirror. I always practice with my grandma because she gives me input on what i should do and not do when giving a speech. I used to forget to breathe when i gave speeches and when i preform in front of a crowd. It is good that you breathe now when you give speeches. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. christina  |  October 4, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Yes remembering to breath is a very good tip! I was so nervous today when I was doing my reading cause I knew my voice sounded horrible! I already have a raspy voice and I have been sick for like three days so I know it sounded bad. But no one seemed to care actually the only person who even commented on it was Candie so I guess rveryone else was just listening to my speach so I feel alot better now I wish I would have read this blog before class so I could have thought to breath through my reading instead of worring about my voice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

