My beginning of Speech

October 2, 2010 at 12:16 pm 1 comment

Coming into this class, I was very nervous. Public speaking has always been a weak point for me and has become something that I dread. But after only one week in the class, I am already starting to feel more comfortable. I thought that many different points that were made in the first three chapters were very useful and helpful. The keys to overcoming nervousness were useful to me personally and I am working to master those keys in the class right now. I also found the information about listening to be interesting as well. I am guilty of focusing too much on what the speaker looks like and how they are acting and not enough on what they are actually saying. I think that I tend to judge speakers quickly, and I think that is why I am afraid of being judged myself. I never realized that you could listen too hard until reading the chapter. That is something to think about. The bit about ethics was very enlightening as well. I have never thought about adjusting to the audience until reading that part of the chapter. I will continue to work on that in this class.

I so far am enjoying the class very well. I like the activities that we do to work on our speech. The other students in my class make the class very enjoyable as well. There is a very good differential of age groups in my class, and I think that makes the class a more dynamic experience. I also like the teacher so far, she seems very nice and supportive. By the end of the class I want to be able to look forward to public speaking instead of it being something that I am afraid of. I also want to be able to make an effect on an audience.

Bryce

Entry filed under: Fear & public speaking, Listening, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Tips from “The Art of Public Speaking” Everyone Is Nervous!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. minot1990  |  October 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Public speaking has always been my weakest point for me too and my worst known fear. I don`t like the eye`s on me. Like you said people judge. That is always on my mind during a speech which creates the nervousness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

