A New Experience

October 3, 2010 at 12:02 pm 1 comment

I did not really know what to expect when I signed up for this class as I have never taken anything like it before. So far in the class I have learned a lot about the different aspects of giving a speech, from choosing a topic to delivering the finished speech. In high school I was given many constraints when choosing what I would give a presentation about so I was never really passionate about what I was talking about because I could not choose something that I actually wanted to share with my peers. I look forward to being able to pick what my speech is about in this class now that I know how critical it is I also like the fact that I will be getting to hear from those that have different life experiences than me so that I can learn new things and find out more about the people in the class.

Some challenges I will have when giving my speeches will be to make sure I communicate my ideas clearly and to slow down my rate of speech. I must be able to take into consideration that my audience will not have the same knowledge I do in some areas so I will have to explain things in ways that make sense to them. I have always been a fast talker and slowing down when I get in front of my audience will be a big thing I have to work on so that they will be able to understand what I am saying. Although I am nervous about taking a class in a new area for me, I am excited to share my ideas and hear those of others.

Hannah

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Uncategorized.

Everyone Is Nervous! Speech 101

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. minot1990  |  October 12, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I like how we the students are allowed to pick topics and the arrange of the class age and background. Thats good I came about your blog especially the second paragraph because I was thinking on those for my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

